Homeschool Curriculum Spotlight – Science Part 2

  As an eclectic homeschool family, one science curriculum was not enough.  We chose Noeo Science as our major science focus but in my research of science curriculum I was also introduced to Real Science For Kids by an acquaintance.  Real Science For Kids was the perfect addition to our heavier “discovery” based science block.   With Real Science For Kids you have three subjects that are covered throughout the year; Chemistry, Biology, and Physics.  What I love about this curriculum is that we get to balance “discovery” with learning foundational principles of science.  I would say that Real Science For Kids is a “fact learning” curriculum.  The main text book is written in the form of a hard cover children’s book with bright and colorful illustrations.  What really makes this curriculum so special is the way the illustrators, Janet Moneymaker and Dr. D. J. Keller have given personalities to all the details of science.  For example, in the Chemistry book you will see atoms as individuals with faces and arms.  Then you will get to see atoms interact with each other to form molecule teams each team illustrated to show how it works.  I was so completely drawn in the first time I looked at the samples of the website.  I was so excited!  I could hardly wait for school to begin!  Each subject is divided into 10 short sections so each section can be covered in a day or more if you like.  We do a section at the end of each week so that if we want we can do the experiment over the weekend.  There is a Teacher’s Manual and a Student Laboratory Workbook that leads you through the scientific method for each chapter.  The text is read to learn a principle and then it is thought about and tested.  The materials needed for all the experiments are listed in the book and can mostly be found around the house. 

I have been very pleased with Real Science and we have had a lot of fun so far.  I would have to say that this curriculum has definitely lived up to my expectations.  I wanted my children to understand and be able apply what they learn in the experiments and they have.  I look forward to seeing the progress as we get to the next levels and I was very happy that we will cover the same subjects again as we advance but in greater detail. 

For more information, check out Real Science For Kids at:  www.gravitaspublications.com

Keep Sailing, 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary Hugill

4 Comments

Filed under Homeschool

4 responses to “Homeschool Curriculum Spotlight – Science Part 2

  1. Dee

    Sounds like an interesting curriculum. I’ll have to check it out.

  2. I’m looking for science to do third grade next year. I’ll also have to check this one out.

  3. Well I checked it out last night. My son was wondering what I was reading (the books are fully readable online). He sat down and read all chemistry pre1 book! He was really interested. I think I’m going to order them and the workbooks. The program we’re doing now is pretty light. Then move to level 1 along with another series he really likes.

  4. mylittlebub

    That’s great! I’m so glad this was helpful for you.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

