God’s Faithfulness or Yours?

God is faithful.  Faithful to provide love, forgiveness, discipline, food, clothing, all things spiritual and to keep the world turning… and on and on.  Yet so many Christians when they receive a blessing or personal deliverance or help from the Lord do not take it as proof of God’s faithfulness but instead their own.  They see God’s hand in their lives as a stamp of approval from God on their spiritual lives. They may think to themselves “Wow, I’m not worthy of this blessing but I must be in the right place with God”

 I say this from personal experience.  I used to think that because the Lord would interact with my life on a personal level and do things in my life that only He could know about, that meant that He was in approval of my spiritual life.  I had not come to know, yet, that God shows His personal love and faithfulness to me because of Christ in me and He approves of Christ.  The believer’s spiritual life may be lifeless or they might be going in completely the wrong direction and not glorifying God but this does not cancel out His faithfulness towards the believer.  God will put us under divine discipline to try and wake us up but that can take many forms and does not mean that God abandons. 

I can look around at all kinds of believers the lukewarm and the Hot, the indifferent and the faithful.  Ask any one of them, and they will have many examples of how God has personally provided and led them.  The caution here is to understand that God is not validating your life through His blessings. 

Your spiritual life must line up with the word of God in order to glorify God.  You cannot line up your spiritual life with experiences and call it good. 

I don’t have this completely worked out in my understanding.  I have much more to learn about God’s faithfulness and blessing.  Just when I think I understand, I find I have more to learn.  But I do see that God blesses across the board and it is not a measure of our faithfulness but His.   As to whether the Kingdom of Darkness can do the same(bring blessings) or does as a deception, I have questions about but no doctrine so I’m not going to speculate further.  Maybe that is a subject for another time.

Keep Sailing,

Mary

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “God’s Faithfulness or Yours?

  1. karenhancock

    You said, “The caution here is to understand that God is not validating your life through His blessings.

    Your spiritual life must line up with the word of God in order to glorify God. You cannot line up your spiritual life with experiences and call it good.”

    Awesome observation Mary. I love it. I needed to read it.

    As for whether the KoD can bless, of course they can. In Matthew 4 where Satan tempted Jesus, he offered to give him the kingdoms and riches of the world if He’d bow down and worship, so clearly he can give the world’s richest to whomever he chooses.

    You can’t look at presence or absense of blessing and determine one thing about a person’s spiritual life. In fact, you aren’t supposed to be determining anything about someone else’s spiritual life, only your own.

    • mylittlebub

      Oh, thanks for the Mat. 4 reference that does help! It takes a steady mind and lots of discipline to mind our own spiritual lives and not mind others. It’s worth the peace and lack of divine discipline to do it. I like how you point out that we can’t determin anything about someone’s spiritual life by the external and then push to the higher conclusion and that is that the only spiritual life that should matter to us is our own.

Leave a Reply

