The Ghost In My Genes

This house is haunted, so am I,

I saw a spector with my eye,

It wore my clothes and had my hair

It said that death wasn’t fair,

It wanted life again from me

It promised I could make it free,

It promised it would go away

No more fearful ghostly ray, 

I brought it daily all it asked

I obeyed its every task,

When to my horror I did discover

The thing I fed did not recover,

Instead my life was sucked away

each time I gave it its own way,

Before I understood the truth

It had robbed me of my precious youth,

By then I was too weak to stop

It took from me, every.  last.  drop.

Of Life.

The Ghost in us was born in death

We cannot give it life and breath,

Though for life, it hungers endlessly,

It was crucified with Christ, upon a tree,

There it lost its power over us

Who have believed in Christ Jesus,

We who believe are something new

Brought to life with Christ it’s true,

Ghost and life in one small frame

Being haunted by it, is no shame,

The ghost reminds us where we’d be

Without The Christ who set us free.

 

Keep Sailing,(happy halloween)

Mary

8 Comments

Filed under Faith, Poetry

8 responses to “The Ghost In My Genes

  1. Karen Hancock

    Cool!

  2. Karen

    This is a wonderful poem!

  3. karenhancock

    I left a comment earlier: “Cool!” But then something happened when I tried to submit it and it didn’t seem to go through. Then I pushed the back button and ended up at the submit a comment page, but when I tried to submit the comment again, it said I’d already said that and that it was deleting it. So… then I waited to see if it would come up, but it never did. All that for… “Cool.” So I guess I’m supposed to say more, (assuming this comment will actually go through) thus,

    Cool poem, Mary! I love how it dovetails with our lessons. Maybe there IS something worthwhile in Halloween, after all. Stu’s trying to get me to go to a costumed Halloween party this Saturday. Maybe I could go as my zombie old sin nature.

    • mylittlebub

      Hahaha! Do it! Hang a sign around your neck that says OSN. That should make for some interesting conversation. I too am not a fan of Halloween in and of itself, but Sunday’s lesson sparked the poem.

  4. Karen

    Dottie asked me to forward her comment to you:

    This is wonderful and beautiful…… What a talent!!!

    • mylittlebub

      Have I met Dottie at any conferences? I’m terrible with names.
      Tell her thank you, it has been really neat that people are enjoying it.

  5. Tabitha

    I love this Mary!

Leave a Reply

