Personal Appearance

While I was doing my hair and getting ready for the day, something new occurred to me.  I don’t know if other women do this but I will often try and imagine how what I’m wearing or how I look is going to be perceived by others I may meet that day;  Will I be seen as mundane or special, silly or smart?  My view of how I will be perceived based upon my own evaluation in the mirror can affect my interactions with people.  This whole process is almost involuntary, an underlying thought that I don’t usually pay much attention to.  I don’t like to think of myself as being so focused on shallow outward things but in the flesh I can be.  Well, this morning, as the process occurred as usual, a new thought popped into the subtle unconscious evaluation ” You know, it’s arrogant to try and control (or imagine that you can control) the perceptions of others.”  Wow, I thought, is that really what I’m doing?  Yea, I think it is!  I’m living in a delusion that if I can appear a certain way, the right clothes, hair or makeup, I can control how someone else will view me.  How arrogant to think that I have that kind of control over people!  Sadly though, the kingdom of darkness does know us very well and can give us a clue as to what people’s preferences are.  I didn’t realize that this was one of the ways I was placing too much value on what other people think of me.  It’s an attempt to meet all the wrong standards and gain cosmic approval.

I am a girly girl most of the time and I don’t believe there is anything wrong with doing your hair or wearing makeup and dressing in clothes that you like but I certainly shouldn’t do it with that kind of motivation.  If dressing up makes me feel good, fine, but I don’t want to live in bondage to people and their foolish, shallow perceptions.  I need to do everything as unto the Lord, including maintaining my personal appearance.  This in no way implies that I will be wearing “religious” hair and jean skirts!  God is not interested in outward appearances but the mental attitude of the mind(the apparel of the soul) which daily needs renewal through His word to clean up the mental garbage we daily pick up from the cosmic system. 

This is one of those less pleasant things to share in a blog.  Too personal? Maybe. I think it’s worth sharing though.  The Lord is setting me free little by little as I learn His word daily.  I’m excited that the Lord is working to set me free from so much cosmic thinking and  evil religious solutions through His word and by learning who I am in Christ.  It’s making me confident in living as a the new spiritual species, the new creature that I am in Christ. It’s changing my life daily.

Keep Sailing,

Mary

2 Comments

Filed under Changing Perspectives, Faith

2 responses to “Personal Appearance

  1. karenhancock

    Thanks for this post, Mary! I was gratified to read of your “unconscious thought process” as you looked in the mirror, and your realization of where it was coming from. Good conclusions, too. I was gratified because I’ve been having similar experiences with my own subtle unconscious thought process and have come to the conclusion that it’s actually leading me right out of fellowship as the day progresses if I don’t catch it.

    • mylittlebub

      I’ve had a host of these kinds of unconscious thoughts lately. It’s been more of a challenge to capture them and replace them with doctrine too.

Leave a Reply

