Areas of Practice

In my last post I talked about the common experiences of humanity.  Much of it being predictable and overdone, as in, repeated since the dawn of fallen mankind.  The bell toll of those thoughts still rings loudly in my soul, giving me, for the moment, a different perspective on life.  For example, right now I have the common cold, I’ve been sneezing and groaning and indulging all areas of available comfort.  We all have gotten the common cold since forever.  It’s been fun to think about it in view of that.

This last week in my Bible classes P. Joe said something that stood out to me and seemed the counterbalance of all I had been thinking about in my last post.  He said, “Do not disdain your areas of practice”.  Of course!  This is the whole reason for the “common boring idiocy” we indulge in and face every day.  Everything the Lord has given to me at salvation is all very nice on paper but if I don’t take it out and practice using it, I never bring glory to Him, or become truly blessed by it myself.  And since God’s ways and thoughts are higher than ours by the same scale the universe is larger than the earth, which means, we don’t even register on the scale.  Even the mastery of the basics takes everyday practice on common boring experience throughout an entire lifetime not only to learn to use but even to understand what they are.  Take for example God’s love, it’s nothing like any love humans have on earth and I for one barely understand it, let alone use it.  I may use it by accident or not see it for what it is but God, in bringing me to everyday practice on the common easy targets and having me come back to it again and again will reveal more and more by each passing what it looks like, until I begin to recognize it and how to use it.  Well, that takes years, it takes as long as it takes and those are just the basics.  Each time I circle around the same issue that always plagues and confuses me, that is God’s grace and love towards me.  I was alive today to have the opportunity to practice.  How cool is that!?

Thanks Karen, you helped me focus these very ideas by your posts.  http://karenhancock.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/gods-thoughts-are-not-our-thoughts/

http://karenhancock.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/the-long-slow-learning-curve/

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

